Skip to content

goodbye 2012.

December 31, 2012

I’ll just come right out and say that 2012 has not been my favorite year. It’s been filled with the deaths of friends. Disease in my family. The Waldo Canyon Fire which devastated my city. Crises around the world which broke my heart.

Ugh.

I’m ready for a fresh start. For a 2013 which will see me finally graduate college (commencement will be on my 28th birthday….looking forward to that birthday present). 2013 will be the year of my 10 year high school reunion (this could be highly depressing or fantastically celebratory – I’m pushing for the latter). And then….who knows?

new years

I realize that New Year’s celebrations are pretty contrived…I mean, it’s essentially just a day like any other. People will be born and will die. There’s nothing particularly amazing about the passing of another day or another year. But I think that we all need moments where we are intentional about reflection. Where we take time to think, pray and look back at another year gone by. Where we process the highs and lows. Where we remember the ways in which we have failed, taking time to grieve those failures, receive forgiveness, and turn our hearts towards redemption. And then we remember the successes, taking joy in the little bits of life and love and beauty that we’ve been a part of. We understand that there’s nothing magical in the ticking of the clock, the turning of a calendar, the sipping of champagne, and yet, we take the opportunity to make it magical, by choosing to make the most of a moment that can help us gain perspective on this crazy, extraordinary, spectacular thing called LIFE.

Even though 2012 has been hellish, I choose to take joy in the small moments that make all of the pain worth it. The birth of my nephew James. Celebrating the marriage of great friends. Trips to DC and New York to spend time with world changers. Sweet, everyday moments with my best friend. Friends that are faithful and loving in the hardest of times.

So, bring it on 2013. Bring on more life, more beauty, more celebration. Because, in spite of the fact that you will bring heartache as well, the light always conquers darkness. Hope destroys fear. Life defeats death.

And that, for damn sure, is something worth celebrating.

I leave you with Over the Rhine’s “We’re Gonna Pull Through,” which is just about the most perfect song for the end of this year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 11:06 pm

    How was your blog not on my radar before? Can’t. Stop. Reading. So much beautiful, gracious loving wisdom. You are am inspiration.

    Like

    • February 1, 2013 8:16 am

      Awww! Thanks Felicia!! That means a lot coming from you, one of the wisest most beautiful people around!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

