Skip to content

the fastest way up

July 3, 2012

Here’s a little mobile blog post as I’m I’m the truck with my parents driving from Lincoln City to Portland. My dad’s got this cd in by a band named Elliot, apparently from a church in Bend. There’s a line in one of their songs that says, “The fastest way up is the quickest way down.” It got me thinking about our American form of Christianity which emphasizes quick results, amazing transformations during worship services, instantaneous healing, etc. Now, I’m not saying that I don’t believe those sorts of things are possible. But, that sort of change doesn’t seem to be the MAIN way God works through history. His dealing with the Israelites was a slow and steady discipleship. Jesus spent three years training his twelve. The slow and steady struggle in faith has often been seen as lesser than when compared to the quick and easy change produced by hyper-produced worship services and charismatic speakers. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good worship service (I am a worship leader, you know), but I’ve been to enough church camps and crusades to know that the “converts” and “disciples” produced from those events are typically the quickest to fall from faith. Because they find out that’s it not all as easy as we’ve made it out to be. Those that I’ve seen be faithful and persevering in the kingdom are those who have taken their time, those willing to struggle through the hard questions presented by the requirements of our kingdom life, those who take the slow and steady path and aren’t tempted by quick fixes or the easy way out. So, does “the fastest way up” actually lead to quicker spiritual decline and a falling from faith? Something to chew on.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

